Meditation on a life in the kitchen 2
Run by bakers Neil and Thos Sorenson, the original White Lunch Cafeteria opened in 1913 across the street from Woodward’s Department Store on Hastings Street. A series of other restaurant locations followed. The Granville White Lunch nestled in the company of numerous other diner-style cafes and restaurants that catered to local workers, shoppers, and patrons of nearby Theatre Row.
The White Lunch neon sign was spectacular, bearing a three-dimensional coffee cup with steam rising off the top. Down below on the saucer, the silhouettes of a chef, a child, a dog, and a couple moved around the cup.